August 1, 2006

Tastes Like Because It's Made From

Splenda’s advertising says “Splenda tastes like sugar because it’s made from sugar!”

Now, I like Splenda at least as much as the next guy, but some people have criticised that slogan as being a little misleading.) I was thinking, if that slogan works, why not apply the logic to other products?

Bacon tastes like pigs because it’s made from pigs!
Jell-o tastes like leather because it’s made from leather!
The Sistine Chapel ceiling looks like paint, because it’s made from paint!
Cologne smells like deer glands because it’s made from deer glands!
Sugar tastes like beets because it’s made from beets!

Feel free to contribute your own. Or read about the fallacy of composition.

Posted by James at August 1, 2006 8:54 AM
Create Social Bookmark Links
Comments

Splenda tastes like chlorine because it's made from chlorine.

Posted by: Karen at August 1, 2006 2:42 PM

Ha! Well played, Karen. Well played.

Posted by: James at August 1, 2006 3:13 PM

Creationists taste like monkeys because they're made from monkeys.

:-P

There's some stuff coming up in Kansas... it was just on my mind.

Posted by: Maggie at August 1, 2006 3:28 PM

Note 1:
Maggie - 1
Jesus + Friends - 0

Note 2:
Bill O'Reilly tastes like ass because he's made from a pile of completely insane feces.

Take that, psycho!

Posted by: Derek at August 1, 2006 7:44 PM

After reading "Jell-o tastes like leather because itís made from leather!" I was compelled to write to Kraft (makers of Jell-O).

Me: I need to know whether Jell-O is made from plant- or animal-derived gelatin sources.

Kim McMiller, Assoc Director, GCR Consumer Services:

I wanted to get back you about the question you had on gelatin. Gelatin is made from collagen, a protein that comes from animals used for food, like beef or pork. The majority of gelatin used in our products is derived from North American pork. The very small amount of beef used to make our gelatin is primarily from the United States, as well as from several other countries in North and South America, specifically, Canada and Brazil.

The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) carefully supervises the production of gelatin. During the production process, gelatin changes chemically so that the final product is not the same in composition or identity as it was in the original protein form. Because of this, gelatin isn't considered a meat by the United States Government.

If you need more information about Gelatin, I would recommend contacting the FDA directly at www.fda.gov.

For more information about our products, please visit the Product Information section of www.kraftfoods.com.

****

This has confused me as I have seen kosher marks on the packaging, and I swear I read that it is considered so rendered and removed from the animal that it is considered kosher. Not so.

http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm

The most controversial certification is the K, a plain letter K found on products asserted to be kosher. A letter of the alphabet cannot be trademarked, so any manufacturer can put a K on a product. For example, Jell-O brand gelatin puts a K on its product, even though every reliable Orthodox authority agrees that Jell-O is not kosher. Most other kosher certification marks are trademarked and cannot be used without the permission of the certifying organization. The certifying organization assures you that the product is kosher according to their standards, but standards vary.
****

However, there is disagreement about this on Beliefnet. One person called Kraft and was told a rabbi certifies their products, but he may or may not be orthodox.

How confusing. Good thing I'm not religious:

http://www.beliefnet.com/boards/message_list.asp?boardID=21295&discussionID=453802

Posted by: Patti M. at August 4, 2006 9:02 AM

Copyright © 1999-2007 James P. Burke. All Rights Reserved